New Two Competitions and the Main Jury

6. 2. 2020, 08:00
MFF Praha – Febiofest


This year the festival’s programme is divided into 14 sections. Main Competition, which presents the most noteworthy auteur works by young filmmakers from around the world, is complemented by a new section, Comedy Competition. It will focus on arthouse-style comedy pictures that are for the most part neglected by festivals. In this way, Febiofest is giving comedies that reflect modern-day realities a prominent place in its programme. The section’s jury is comprised of 33 members – selected film fans who will watch all of the competing works during the festival. The jury’s honorary chair will be an eminent Czech film personality and the section will close with a special screening of The Circus, shown by the festival in tribute to the master of comedy Charlie Chaplin.

JURY OF MAIN COMPETITION: Jiří Mádl, Ildikó Enyedi a Denis Côté 

Main Competition will offer a selection of debuts by emerging filmmakers, focusing on the themes of human dignity and the power of personality this year. Viewers can look forward to films with heroes facing fundamental life decisions. The section will be, for the first time, evaluated by an expert jury consisting of three leading film professionals: Czech actor and director Jiří Mádl, Hungarian director Ildikó Enyedi and acclaimed Canadian director Denis Côté. The programme of the Main Competition will be online the 4 March.

Jury – Main Competition

Jury – Main Competition

Choose from programme