Jury and prizes

The winner of new europe section 2019 is slovak drama by sharp knife by teodor kuhn 

In 2018, the winner of the festival’s Grand Prix was decided by a 33-member jury composed of film fans and headed by honorary chairperson Jan Saudek (previous chairs included Marta Kubišová, Jan Kaplický, Věra Čáslavská, Dagmar Havlová, Juraj Herz, David Černý, Miroslav Ondříček and Theodor Pištěk). The members of the jury are selected by festival president Fero Fenič. In 2019 the New Europe jury selected By a Sharp Knife by director Teodor Kuhn from among the films in competition and it received the EUR 5,000 prize.


Anyone over the age of 15, whatever their educational background, profession or interests, can become a jury member. Led by an honorary chairperson, the selected jurors commit themselves to attending screenings of films and then giving them points ratings every day during the festival from around 5 p.m. to midnight (and during the afternoon at weekends). The role of juror does not come with any right to accommodation, travel expenses, compensation for lost income or other payment. The selected candidates will obtain tickets for competition films, invitations to the festival’s closing ceremony, free tickets to this year’s edition and the chance to see behind the scenes at a film festival.

The jury is made up of film buffs and is headed by an honorary chairperson.
The jury evaluates the films in the New Europe section.
The winning film receives the EUR 5,000 Grand Prix.
The award is presented by the chair of the jury at the festival’s closing ceremony. 
Jury 2019

Jury 2019